Navigate Up

Full Library - A-Z Index


Print This Page

Celiac disease - nutritional considerations

Celiac disease is an immune disorder passed down through families.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or sometimes oats. It may also be found in some medicines. When a person with celiac disease eats or drinks anything containing gluten, the immune system responds by damaging the lining of the intestinal tract. This affects the body's ability to absorb nutrients.

Carefully following a gluten-free diet helps prevent symptoms of the disease.

Alternative Names

Gluten-free diet; Gluten sensitive enteropathy - diet; Celiac sprue - diet

Food Sources

To follow a gluten-free diet means, you need to avoid all foods, drinks, and medications made with gluten. This means not eating anything made with barley, rye, and wheat. All items made with all-purpose, white, or wheat flour are prohibited.

FOODS YOU CAN EAT

  • Beans
  • Cereals made without wheat or barley malt
  • Corn
  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Meat, poultry, and fish (not breaded or made with regular gravies)
  • Milk-based items
  • Oats (may be okay for some people with celiac disease, but work closely with your doctor or dietitian)
  • Potatoes
  • Rice

The gluten-free diet involves removing all foods, drinks, and medications made from gluten. This means not eating anything made with barley, rye, and wheat. All items made with all-purpose, white, or wheat flour are prohibited.

Obvious sources of gluten include:

  • Breaded foods
  • Breads, bagels, croissants, buns
  • Cakes, donuts, and pies
  • Cereals (most)
  • Cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, or sausage
  • Crackers and many snacks bought at the store, such as potato chips and tortilla chips
  • Gravy
  • Pancakes and waffles
  • Pasta and pizza
  • Soups (most)
  • Stuffing

Less obvious foods that must be eliminated include:

  • Beer
  • Candies (some)
  • Communion breads
  • Croutons
  • Marinades, sauces, soy and teriyaki sauces
  • Salad dressings (some)
  • Self-basting turkey

There is a risk of cross-contamination. Items that are naturally gluten-free may become contaminated if they are made on the same production line, or moved together in the same place, as foods containing gluten.

Eating at restaurants, work, school, and social gatherings can be challenging. Call ahead and plan. It is important to read labels before buying or eating, due to the widespread use of wheat and barley in foods.

Despite its challenges, maintaining a healthy, balanced diet is possible with education and planning.

Recommendations

Talk to a registered dietitian who specializes in celiac disease and the gluten-free diet to help you plan your diet.

You may also want to join a local support group . These groups can help people with celiac disease share practical advice on ingredients, baking, and ways to cope with this life-altering, lifelong disease.

Your doctor might have you take multivitamin and mineral or individual nutrient supplement to correct or prevent a deficiency.

References

Rubio-Tapia A, Hill ID, Kelly CP, et al. American College of Gastroenterology Guideline: Diagnosis and management of celiac disease. Am J Gastroenterol. 2013;108:656-676.

Semrad CE. Approach to the patient with diarrhea and malabsorption. In: Goldman L, Schafer AI, eds. Goldman's Cecil Medicine. 24th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Saunders Elsevier; 2011:chap 142.

Updated: 2/16/2014

Todd Eisner, MD, Private practice specializing in Gastroenterology, Boca Raton, FL. Affiliate Assistant Professor, Florida Atlantic University School of Medicine. Review provided by VeriMed Healthcare Network. Also reviewed by David Zieve, MD, MHA, Isla Ogilvie, PhD, and the A.D.A.M. Editorial team.


©  UPMC | Affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences
Supplemental content provided by A.D.A.M. Health Solutions. All rights reserved.

For help in finding a doctor or health service that suits your needs, call the UPMC Referral Service at 412-647-UPMC (8762) or 1-800-533-UPMC (8762). Select option 1.

UPMC is an equal opportunity employer. UPMC policy prohibits discrimination or harassment on the basis of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, age, sex, genetics, sexual orientation, marital status, familial status, disability, veteran status, or any other legally protected group status. Further, UPMC will continue to support and promote equal employment opportunity, human dignity, and racial, ethnic, and cultural diversity. This policy applies to admissions, employment, and access to and treatment in UPMC programs and activities. This commitment is made by UPMC in accordance with federal, state, and/or local laws and regulations.

Medical information made available on UPMC.com is not intended to be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. You should not rely entirely on this information for your health care needs. Ask your own doctor or health care provider any specific medical questions that you have. Further, UPMC.com is not a tool to be used in the case of an emergency. If an emergency arises, you should seek appropriate emergency medical services.

For UPMC Mercy Patients: As a Catholic hospital, UPMC Mercy abides by the Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services, as determined by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. As such, UPMC Mercy neither endorses nor provides medical practices and/or procedures that contradict the moral teachings of the Roman Catholic Church.

© UPMC
Pittsburgh, PA, USA UPMC.com