Navigate Up

UPMC/University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences
For Journalists
Media Coordinator
Telephone: 412-692-6254
Director
Telephone: 412-877-1656
Other Inquiries
 

Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC Announces 2012-2013 Fall-Winter Community Education Calendar

PITTSBURGH, Sept. 17, 2012 – Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC is offering fall and winter classes for children and adults at several locations throughout the greater Pittsburgh area. Registration for classes is required and scholarships are available. For more information or to register, please visit classes.upmc.com or call 412-692-7105.
 
Alone at Home – ($10 per family)
Children ages 10 and up with their parent(s). Discuss physical and emotional readiness, appropriate behaviors and creation of a family safety plan for children home alone. 
 
Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, Nov. 15, 7-8:30 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Thursday, Dec. 6, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
Avoid Power Struggles with Your Kids - $5
For all parents.  Learn how to avoid everyday struggles with your kids, stop nagging and use options to increase cooperation. This class presents strategies to help parents encourage teamwork, reduce family stress and raise responsible kids.
 
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Thursday, Sept.  27, 10-11:30 a.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Monday, Oct. 22, 10-11:30 a.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Thursday, Nov. 8, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Monday, Nov. 26, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
Babysitting 101 - $35 
Boys and girls ages 11 and up. Learn about safety for themselves and the children in their care.  This class includes first aid basics, choking rescue techniques, child development and routine daily care.   
 
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, Sept. 22, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
UPMC East, Monroeville, Saturday, Oct. 6, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, Oct. 20, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, Oct. 27, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Family Care Connection, Lawrenceville, Saturday, Nov. 3, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, Nov. 17, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, Dec. 1, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
UPMC East, Monroeville, Saturday, Jan. 5, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, Jan. 12, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, Jan. 19, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
  
CPR: Infant, Child, and Teen - $30
This American Heart Association Family and Friends course is for parents and other adult community members who have a desire to learn CPR and choking rescue, but do not require certification.
 
Children’s North, Wexford , Saturday, Oct. 13, 9 a.m.-Noon
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, Oct. 20, 9 a.m.-Noon
Children’s Oakland Medical Building, Saturday, Nov. 3, 9 a.m.-Noon 
Children’s North, Wexford , Saturday, Nov. 10, 9 a.m.-Noon
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, Dec. 8, 9 a.m.-Noon
Children’s Oakland Medical Building, Saturday, Jan. 12, 9 a.m.-Noon
 
Discipline Doesn’t Have to Hurt - $5
For parents of toddlers and preschoolers. Learn the difference between discipline and punishment, age-appropriate expectations and options when children test the limits. The class presents strategies to help parents increase cooperation, reduce family stress and raise healthy kids.
 
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, Oct. 17, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, Oct. 25, 7-8:30 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Thursday, Jan. 10, 2013, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
Happiest Baby on the Block - $35 per couple
Dr. Harvey Karp’s fun and effective step-by-step approach to help all infants sleep longer and soothe even the fussiest baby in minutes. This parenting class is designed for expectant parents and parents with babies under five months old. Participants will receive the Parent Kit DVD and the Soothing Sounds CD ($40 retail value).
 
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Monday, Sept. 24, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Monday, Oct. 1, 7-8:30 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Monday, Oct. 29, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Monday, Nov. 12, 7-8:30 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Monday, Nov. 19, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Monday, Dec. 3, 7-8:30 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, Dec. 12, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, Jan. 17, 7-8:30 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Tuesday, Jan. 29, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
Parenting Your Adolescent - $5
For parents of children ages 10-17. Discuss the challenges of raising teenagers. Review adolescent development and effective parenting skills to encourage respect, set limits and reinforce positive behavior choices.
 
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, Sept. 19, 7-8:30 p.m.
Pine Center, Wexford, Monday, Sept. 24, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
Taming Your Toddler - Free
Taming your Toddler – For parents of children ages 1-3.  How to handle tantrums, potty training, language development, sleep and more.  Learn effective strategies to enjoy this phase of your child’s development. 
 
CCP Pittsburgh Pediatrics, Bloomfield, Thursday, Oct. 11, 7-8:30 p.m.
CCP Bellevue Pediatric Assoc., Richland, Monday, Oct. 15, 7-8:30 p.m.
CCP Allegheny Pediatrics, Natrona Heights, Tuesday, Oct. 30, 7-8:30 p.m.
CCP South Hills Pediatric Assoc., Brentwood, Wednesday, Nov. 7, 6-7:30 p.m.
CCP Moon & Wexford Pediatrics, Moon, Wednesday, Nov. 7, 7-8:30 p.m.
CCP Greenville Pediatrics, Greenville, Tuesday, Nov. 13, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
Tech Smart 4 Kids: Internet Safety - Free
For all parents. Parents will learn to set guidelines to allow their children to explore the available technologies while protecting their privacy and keeping them safe.
 
Pine Center, Wexford, Tuesday, Oct. 23, 7-8:30 p.m.
UPMC South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, Nov. 28, 7-8:30 p.m.

©  UPMC | Affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences
Supplemental content provided by A.D.A.M. Health Solutions. All rights reserved.

For help in finding a doctor or health service that suits your needs, call the UPMC Referral Service at 412-647-UPMC (8762) or 1-800-533-UPMC (8762). Select option 1.

UPMC is an equal opportunity employer. UPMC policy prohibits discrimination or harassment on the basis of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, age, sex, genetics, sexual orientation, marital status, familial status, disability, veteran status, or any other legally protected group status. Further, UPMC will continue to support and promote equal employment opportunity, human dignity, and racial, ethnic, and cultural diversity. This policy applies to admissions, employment, and access to and treatment in UPMC programs and activities. This commitment is made by UPMC in accordance with federal, state, and/or local laws and regulations.

Medical information made available on UPMC.com is not intended to be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. You should not rely entirely on this information for your health care needs. Ask your own doctor or health care provider any specific medical questions that you have. Further, UPMC.com is not a tool to be used in the case of an emergency. If an emergency arises, you should seek appropriate emergency medical services.

For UPMC Mercy Patients: As a Catholic hospital, UPMC Mercy abides by the Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services, as determined by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. As such, UPMC Mercy neither endorses nor provides medical practices and/or procedures that contradict the moral teachings of the Roman Catholic Church.

© UPMC
Pittsburgh, PA, USA UPMC.com