

Allegheny County Democratic Delegation

House of Representatives • Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Honorable Jordan Harris Appropriations Chairman 512-E Main Capitol, PO Box 202186 Harrisburg, PA 15120-2186

cc: Speaker McClinton, Leader Bradford and Secretaries Monson and Yablonski

Subject: Request for Budget Increase to Modernize Pennsylvania Poison Control Centers

Dear Chairman Harris:

We are writing to respectfully request a funding increase for Pennsylvania Poison Control Centers.

For several years, poisonings throughout the state have steadily increased and become more severe. If poison centers are to effectively meet the growing and changing needs of Pennsylvanians, then more funding is necessary. In the 2024-2025 budget, we ask that you support a \$440k increase for the Regional Poison Control Centers, altering the line item from \$742k to \$1.182 million.

At a time when children and adults are so comfortable searching their screens for answers, we must meet them where they are. By providing reliable information through easily accessible platforms, in addition to the poison center phone line, health and safety will be improved and emergency health care charges will be avoided.

The additional funding we are requesting would allow poison centers to create and maintain a comprehensive, multi-modal, digital health infrastructure, which includes:

- Creating a Digital Transformation (\$225,000 in one-time funding)
- Building Partnerships and Capacity (\$170,000 annually)
- Optimizing Online Presence (\$45,000 annually)

For over 30 years, the nurse specialists, pharmacists, and physician toxicologists at Pennsylvania's poison control centers have provided free medical advice 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. By increasing their funding, we strongly believe that constituents across the Commonwealth will be better served and supported.



Rep. Nick Pisciottano Delegation Chair

Brando Markwich

Rep. Brandon Markosek County Vice Chair

Rep. Dan Frankel District 23

Rep. La'Tasha Mayes District 24

arvind Vental

Rep. Arvind Venkat District 30

Rep. Jessica Benham Delegation Vice-Chair

Lea Benham

Rep. Dan Deasy District 27

Rep. Matthew Gergely District 35

Rep. Mandy Steele District 33