Also part of the UPMC family:
Also part of the UPMC family:

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)

UPMC Content 2
  • The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education is a private, nonprofit council that evaluates and accredits medical residency programs in the United States.
  • The ACGME was established in 1981 from a consensus in the academic medical community for an independent accrediting organization. Its forerunner was the Liaison Committee for Graduate Medical Education, established in 1972.
  • The mission of the ACGME is to improve health care by assessing and advancing the quality of resident physicians’ education through exemplary accreditation.
  • The ACGME's chief executive officer is Thomas J. Nasca, MD, MACP.
  • In academic year 2013-2014, there were 9,527 ACGME-accredited residency programs in 169 specialties and subspecialties. The number of active full-time and part-time residents for academic year 2013-2014  was 120,108.
  • The ACGME has 28 Review Committees (one for each of the 26 specialties, one for a special one-year transitional-year general clinical program, and one for institutional review). Each Review Committee comprises about 6 to 15 volunteer physicians. Members of the Residency Review Committees are appointed by the AMA Council on Medical Education and the appropriate medical specialty boards and organizations. Members of the Institutional Review Committee and Transitional Year Committee are appointed by the ACGME Executive Committee and confirmed by the Board of Directors.
  • The ACGME's member organizations are the American Board of Medical Specialties, American Hospital Association, American Medical Association, Association of American Medical Colleges, and the Council of Medical Specialty Societies. Member organizations each appoint four members to the Board of Directors, which also includes two resident members, three public directors, the chair of the Council of Review Committees, one to four at large directors, and a non-voting federal representative.
Find a Doctor

Browse UPMC doctors and medical professionals to find the care that's right for you. Customize your search by specialty, zip code, last name, and more.

Visit the UPMC Find a Doctor website.
Make an Appointment

Find important information on scheduling your appointment or finding a doctor or service that meets your needs.

Request an appointment now.
Find a Location

Browse addresses and contact information for our network of hospitals, specialty care practices, and community health locations.

Find a UPMC location near you.
Pay Your Bill

Learn more about how to pay your UPMC bill. Find resources including payment methods and contact information for assistance.

Pay your bill now.
Find a Career

Advance your career with UPMC. Discover our latest job listings and learn about our values and career pathways.

Find your ideal career at UPMC.