Navigate Up
UPMC/University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences
For Journalists
Media Coordinator
Telephone: 412-692-6254
Director
Telephone: 412-877-1656
Other Inquiries
 

Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC Announces 2013 Winter-Spring Community Education Calendar

PITTSBURGH, Jan. 15, 2013 – Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC is offering winter and spring classes for children and adults at several locations throughout the greater Pittsburgh area through the Community Education Program. Registration for classes is required and scholarships are available. For more information or to register, please visit classes.upmc.com or call 412-692-7105.
 
Alone at Home – $10 per family
Children ages 10 and up with their parent(s). Discuss physical and emotional readiness, appropriate behaviors and creation of a family safety plan for children home alone. 
 
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Tuesday, March 5, 7-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Wednesday, March 6, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, March 13, 7-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Wednesday, May 1, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Wednesday, May 8, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, May 15, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, Aug. 7, 7-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, Aug. 8, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Wednesday, Aug. 14, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
Babysitting 101 - $35 
Boys and girls ages 11 and up. Learn about safety for themselves and the children in their care. This class includes first aid basics, choking rescue techniques, child development and routine daily care.   
 
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, Feb. 23, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, March 2, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
• Family Care Connection, Lawrenceville, Saturday, March 9, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, March 16, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, April 27, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Saturday, May 11, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, May 18, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, June 1, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, June 22, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Saturday, July 13, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, July 27, 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, Aug. 3, 9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
  
CPR: Infant, Child and Teen - $30
This American Heart Association Family and Friends course is for parents and other adult community members who have a desire to learn CPR and choking rescue, but do not require certification.
 
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Saturday, Feb. 2, 9 a.m.-Noon
• Children’s North, Wexford, Saturday, Feb. 16, 9 a.m.-Noon
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, March 9, 9 a.m.-Noon
• Children’s Oakland Medical Building, Saturday, March 23, 9 a.m.-Noon
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Saturday, April 6, 9 a.m.-Noon
• Children’s North, Wexford, Saturday, April 20, 9 a.m.-Noon
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, May 11, 9 a.m.-Noon
• Children’s Oakland Medical Building, Saturday, June 8, 9 a.m.-Noon
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Saturday, June 15, 9 a.m.-Noon
• Children’s North, Wexford, Saturday, July 13, 9 a.m.-Noon
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, July 20, 9 a.m.-Noon
 
Early Childhood Parenting Made Fun! - $10 per family
For parents of toddlers and preschoolers. This nationally acclaimed Love and LogicTM workshop will help parents create a happy family and raise responsible kids. Parents will learn strategies to reduce whining, arguing and misbehavior. Explore techniques to develop smooth morning and bedtime routines, calm sibling bickering and take the battles out of daily activities. Using love and logic parents can teach their children respect, responsibility and self discipline.
 
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Saturday, Feb. 9, 9 a.m.-Noon
• Pine Center, Wexford, Saturday, March 23, 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
 
First Aid for Kids - $10
For children 10 to 14 years old. Learn the basics of first aid, how to use a first aid kit, and how and when to call for emergency help. First aid kits are provided.
 
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Monday, Feb. 4, 6:30-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, April 18, 6:30-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, June 26, 9-11 a.m.
 
Modern Families - $5
Families today come in many shapes and sizes. Explore strategies to develop a united front as a step, co or single parent, and identify options when parents disagree.
 
• Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, April 11, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Tuesday, April 30, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
Sibling Rivalry - $5
“But Mom, she started it!” is a familiar cry in many households. Parents will better understand the dynamics of sibling conflicts and learn strategies to keep the peace at home.
 
• Pine Center, Wexford, Monday, Feb. 11, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Thursday, Feb. 28, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Monday, March 11, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
Taming Your Toddler - Free
For parents of children ages 1 to 3. How to handle tantrums, potty training, language development, sleep and more. Learn effective strategies to enjoy this phase of your child’s development. 
 
• CCP Allegheny Pediatrics, RIDC Park, Tuesday, April 9, 7-8:30 p.m.
• CCP Bellevue Pediatrics, Cranberry, Wednesday, April 17, 7-8:30 p.m.
• CCP Moon & Wexford Pediatrics, Moon, Monday, April 29, 7-8:30 p.m
 
Tech Smart 4 Kids: Internet Safety - Free
For all parents. Parents will learn to set guidelines to allow their children to explore the available technologies while protecting their privacy and keeping them safe.
 
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Thursday, March 21, 7-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Tuesday, April 2, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Tuesday, April 23, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
The Happiest Baby on the Block - $35 per couple
For expectant parents and parents of babies under 5 months of age. Learn Dr. Harvey Karp’s fun and effective step-by-step approach to help all infants sleep longer and soothe even the fussiest baby in minutes. Participants will receive the Parent Kit DVD and the Soothing Sounds CD ($40 retail value).
 
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Tuesday, Jan. 29, 7-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Monday, Feb. 25, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Thursday, March 7, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Tuesday, March 19, 7-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, April 4, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Monday, April 22, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC East, Monroeville, Thursday, May 9, 7-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Thursday, May 16, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Wednesday, June 19, 7-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Tuesday, July 9, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Thursday, Aug. 1, 7-8:30 p.m.
• Pine Center, Wexford, Tuesday, Aug. 13, 7-8:30 p.m.
 
We Can!: A Parent’s Guide to Family, Fitness and Fun! - Free
For all parents. Learn easy, fun and practical ways for your kids and family to improve food choices, increase physical activity, and reduce screen time (TV, computers and video games). We Can! is a science-based, national education program developed by the National Institutes of Health.
 
• Pine Center, Wexford, Tuesday, March 26, 7-8:30 p.m.
• UPMC South, Bethel Park, Thursday, April 4, 7-8:30 p.m.

©  UPMC | Affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences
Supplemental content provided by A.D.A.M. Health Solutions. All rights reserved.

For help in finding a doctor or health service that suits your needs, call the UPMC Referral Service at 412-647-UPMC (8762) or 1-800-533-UPMC (8762). Select option 1.

UPMC is an equal opportunity employer. UPMC policy prohibits discrimination or harassment on the basis of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, age, sex, genetics, sexual orientation, marital status, familial status, disability, veteran status, or any other legally protected group status. Further, UPMC will continue to support and promote equal employment opportunity, human dignity, and racial, ethnic, and cultural diversity. This policy applies to admissions, employment, and access to and treatment in UPMC programs and activities. This commitment is made by UPMC in accordance with federal, state, and/or local laws and regulations.

Medical information made available on UPMC.com is not intended to be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. You should not rely entirely on this information for your health care needs. Ask your own doctor or health care provider any specific medical questions that you have. Further, UPMC.com is not a tool to be used in the case of an emergency. If an emergency arises, you should seek appropriate emergency medical services.

For UPMC Mercy Patients: As a Catholic hospital, UPMC Mercy abides by the Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services, as determined by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. As such, UPMC Mercy neither endorses nor provides medical practices and/or procedures that contradict the moral teachings of the Roman Catholic Church.

© UPMC
Pittsburgh, PA, USA UPMC.com