Also part of the UPMC family:
Also part of the UPMC family:

​UPMC Hamot Emergency Department Wins Top Award

For Journalists

Karen Beardsley

Rick Pietzak

Want to Make an Appointment or Need Patient Information?
Contact UPMC at

1-800-533-UPMC (8762).

Go to Find a Doctor to search for a UPMC doctor.


Main Content
ERIE, Pa., July 6, 2017 – UPMC Hamot was recently recognized by the Emergency Nurses Association with the Lantern Award, becoming the first hospital in the UPMC network and only the third hospital in Pennsylvania to earn the prestigious award.
The Lantern Award is presented to emergency departments that exemplify exceptional practice and innovative performance in the core areas of leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research.
“The Lantern Award serves as a visible symbol to our patients and their families that excellence is valued, and exceptional care is provided in our emergency department,” said Anne Pedersen, R.N., M.S.N., N.E.A.-B.C., director of nursing. “It recognizes our commitment to quality, safety, presence of a healthy work environment, and accomplishment in incorporating evidence-based practice and innovation into exceptional emergency care.”
UPMC Hamot submitted 38 clinical stories written by more than 20 clinical staff members. “More than 15 disciplines were involved in the process including nursing, physicians, anesthesia, forensics, trauma, stroke, cardiac, pharmacy, laboratory, radiology and security, which reflects the true interdisciplinary nature of the Lantern Award,” said Pedersen.
UPMC Hamot’s emergency department, the largest in the Erie region, sees more than 80,000 patients annually. It includes a dedicated cardiac emergency room for diagnosing and treating heart attacks; a radiology suite, including a high-speed CT scanner to expedite diagnostic testing and allow for quicker treatment decisions; and an experienced emergency and trauma team of doctors, nurses, technicians, case managers and support staff.
The award is named in honor of Florence Nightingale who is credited with changing nursing from an untrained job to a skilled, science-based profession. The Lantern Award designation is valid for three years, after which time emergency departments may reapply.
Find a Doctor

Browse UPMC doctors and medical professionals to find the care that's right for you. Customize your search by specialty, zip code, last name, and more.

Visit the UPMC Find a Doctor website.
Make an Appointment

Find important information on scheduling your appointment or finding a doctor or service that meets your needs.

Request an appointment now.
Find a Location

Browse addresses and contact information for our network of hospitals, specialty care practices, and community health locations.

Find a UPMC location near you.
Pay Your Bill

Learn more about how to pay your UPMC bill. Find resources including payment methods and contact information for assistance.

Pay your bill now.
Find a Career

Advance your career with UPMC. Discover our latest job listings and learn about our values and career pathways.

Find your ideal career at UPMC.