Also part of the UPMC family:

​UPMC Shadyside Day: Celebrating 150 Years of Care

For Journalists

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist II
412-647-6190
capraracl@upmc.edu

Wendy Zellner
Vice President
412-586-9777
zellnerwl@upmc.edu

Want to Make an Appointment or Need Patient Information?
Contact UPMC at

1-800-533-UPMC (8762).

Go to Find a Doctor to search for a UPMC doctor.



8/1/2016

Main Content
PITTSBURGH, Aug. 1, 2016 – In honor of UPMC Shadyside’s 150th anniversary, Pittsburgh Mayor William Peduto and Allegheny County Executive Rich Fitzgerald have declared today UPMC Shadyside Day. Local residents, patients and their families have been invited to join hospital staff at a community celebration this afternoon.
 
UPMC Shadyside began serving the city’s medical needs in 1866 as the 38-bed Homeopathic and Surgical Hospital and Dispensary of Pittsburgh. After more than 40 years in downtown Pittsburgh, where physicians established western Pennsylvania’s first school of nursing and pioneered the region’s first x-ray, the hospital moved to its current Shadyside location in 1910.
 
The hospital’s name officially changed to Shadyside Hospital in 1938, and it became part of the UPMC system in 1997. Today, UPMC Shadyside is a 520-bed teaching hospital that continues to serve the Pittsburgh community, as well as patients who come from other parts of the country and world to receive expert care in a broad range of specialties, including cardiology, oncology, orthopaedics and geriatrics.
 
“We are tremendously proud of UPMC Shadyside’s rich history as a hospital on the forefront of innovation in patient care and nursing education,” said John Innocenti, president, UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside. “UPMC Shadyside Day honors the past while celebrating the bright future of this hospital and its staff and patients.”
 
To view photos of UPMC Shadyside then and now, please visit the Inside Life Changing Medicine blog.