Skip to Content

​HAP Innovation Award Honors Two UPMC Programs

The Hospital & Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania (HAP) Achievement Awards program annually honors the most innovative Pennsylvania hospitals. These awards represent hospital and health system best practices that show innovation, creativity, and commitment to patient care. This year, 19 winners were selected from 131 entries as recipients of Innovation Awards. Two winners were chosen from UPMC.

Community Benefits Award: UPMC Western Psychiatric Hospital

UPMC Western Psychiatric Hospital won an award in the Community Benefit category for their project, Housing First: A Strategy to End Homelessness. This project, which helps chronically homeless individuals and families find shelter, utilizes a Housing and Urban Development grant. The grant partially covers housing costs, outreach programs, and other services that help the seriously and persistently mentally ill homeless population in Allegheny county.

Team Members

Ellie Medved, MSN, Vice President of Ambulatory & Crisis Operations
Steve Forrester, MS ED, Program Coordinator
Ioanna Chiotis, MS, Program Director
Bruce Gnesda, RN, Clinical Administrator
Roy Chengappa, MD, Service Chief for CRS

Patient Safety Award: UPMC St. Margaret

In the Patient Safety category UPMC St. Margaret won an award for their project Reducing Falls with Injury. Falls and fall-related injuries are associated with the quality of nursing care in a hospital setting. Also, there is often significant cost associated with fall or fall-related injuries. The purpose of this project was to lower the number of incidents by educating patients and caretakers on the risks and consequences of falls. While the goal was to reduce the number of falls by 20% ultimately the number of falls was reduced by 44%.

Team Members

Jack Carroll
Lora Cox-Vance, MD
Christine Dolnack
Veronica Findley
Elizabeth Forsberg
Kathleen Fowler
Sharon Fritzley
Carlyn Goodrich
Marjorie Jacobs
Anna Kalafut
Gina Koch
Cheryl Lenhart
Ann Marsico
John Merkt
Ronald O’Neil
Dawn Pajerski
Debra Rogers
Megan L. Rupp
Judith Tinelli
John Wisneski, MD
Christopher Zuk

Congratulations to both HAP project teams