Skip to Content

Types of Breast Cancer at the Breast Cancer Program

UPMC Content 2

The doctors at the Magee-Womens Breast Cancer Program in Pittsburgh, PA., use their considerable experience to diagnose, treat, and manage the following types of breast cancer:

Staging of Breast Cancer

Staging is the process by which doctors examine the diagnostic evidence and determine the size of your tumor and if, or how far, it has spread.

Testing may be part of this process. CT scans and PET scans are two types of imaging tests that your doctor may order. He or she may also order hormone testing.


The following stages determine how advanced your breast cancer is:

Stage 0: The cancer is noninvasive.

Stage I: Cancer cells have appeared in a duct or lobule and have invaded nearby tissue, but have not spread beyond the breast.

Stage II: The tumor is between three-quarters of an inch and 2 inches (2cm - 5cm) and may have spread to lymph nodes under the arm. Or, the tumor 2 inches (5cm) but has not spread to lymph nodes under the arm.

Stage IIIA: The tumor has spread to lymph nodes behind the breastbone, but has not grown into the chest or skin.

Stage IIIB: The cancer has spread to the chest wall or breast skin and may have spread to the lymph nodes.

Stage IIIC: The cancer has spread to the chest wall or breast skin, has spread to the lymph nodes above or below the collarbone, axillary (armpit) or breast bone.

Stage IV: The cancer cells have spread beyond the breast to other organs.


Expert, Personal Breast Cancer Care

Our Breast Cancer Program team is nationally recognized in the care of people with breast cancer.

We're dedicated to treating the whole person, not just the disease.

Our commitment to individualized care, communication, and comprehensive services makes our program an innovative resource for people with breast cancer and their families.