Also part of the UPMC family:
Also part of the UPMC family:

What is a Spinal Cord Level of Injury?

UPMC Content 3

The level of injury:

  • Refers to the point where the spinal cord is injured.
  • Marks a border between areas of the body that are affected and not affected by the spinal cord injury.

Spinal cord levels of injury are named according to the corresponding vertebra and spinal nerve exiting from the spinal canal in that area.

For example, you may hear your doctors talk about a C6 level. This means the spinal cord is injured at the level of the backbone’s sixth cervical (neck) vertebra.

Muscles and other organs:

  • At and above the level of C6 still have nerves connected to them.
  • Below C6 have lost communication with the spinal cord and brain.

Likewise, injuries at the:

  • T9 level correspond to the ninth thoracic (chest-level) vertebra
  • L2 level corresponds to the second lumbar (lower back) vertebra

For more information on levels of spinal cord injury, visit:

Find a Doctor

Browse UPMC doctors and medical professionals to find the care that's right for you. Customize your search by specialty, zip code, last name, and more.

Visit the UPMC Find a Doctor website.
Make an Appointment

Find important information on scheduling your appointment or finding a doctor or service that meets your needs.

Request an appointment now.
Find a Location

Browse addresses and contact information for our network of hospitals, specialty care practices, and community health locations.

Find a UPMC location near you.
Pay Your Bill

Learn more about how to pay your UPMC bill. Find resources including payment methods and contact information for assistance.

Pay your bill now.
Find a Career

Advance your career with UPMC. Discover our latest job listings and learn about our values and career pathways.

Find your ideal career at UPMC.