Also part of the UPMC family:

UPMC Leadership

UPMC is governed by a volunteer, unpaid Board of Directors that represents a broad cross-section of the communities and constituencies we serve. The board is consistently at the forefront in implementing best-in-class corporate governance practices and transparency standards.

One third of the UPMC Board of Directors’ votes are cast by directors appointed by the University of Pittsburgh; and the remaining two-thirds of the total votes are held by a combination of individuals elected from the community at-large and individuals appointed by the Subsidiary Hospitals or their affiliated organizations.

Committees of the board include Audit, Ethics & Compliance, Executive Compensation, Finance, Governance & Nominating, Inclusion & Diversity, International & Enterprises, Investment, and Quality Patient Care.


Chairperson: G. Nicholas Beckwith III

First Vice Chairperson: Eva Tansky Blum

Second Vice Chairperson: Mark J. Laskow

Chairperson, Finance Committee: Robert M. Hernandez

President and CEO: Jeffrey A. Romoff

Treasurer: C. Talbot Heppenstall Jr.

Chief Financial Officer: Robert A. DeMichiei

Chief Legal Officer: W. Thomas McGough, Jr.

Corporate Secretary: Michele P. Jegasothy

Associate Corporate Secretary: Lisa A. Newcomb

Assistant Corporate Secretary: Heidi J. VanGorder


G. Nicholas Beckwith III
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Arch Street Management, LLC

Elaine M. Bellin
President and CEO
Paragon Foods

Vaughn S. Clagette, MD
Practicing Physician
The Southeast Permanente Medical Group

James P. Covert
Former CEO and President
The Institute for Transfusion Medicine, Inc.

Patrick D. Gallagher
Chancellor and Chief Executive Officer
University of Pittsburgh

Richard S. Hamilton
AAA East Central

Howard W. Hanna III
Chairman and CEO, Hanna Holdings, Inc.
and Howard Hanna Real Estate Services

Robert M. Hernandez
Former Vice Chairman and Chief Financial Officer
USX Corporation

Mark J. Laskow
Managing Director
Greycourt & Co. Inc

Arthur S. Levine, MD
Senior Vice Chancellor for the Health Sciences and Gertrude Petersen Dean, School of Medicine
University of Pittsburgh

Robert G. Lovett
Lovett Bookman Harmon Marks LLP

Michael P. Lyons
Head of Corporate & Institutional Banking and Asset Management Group
The PNC Financial Services Group

W. Duff McCrady
McCrady Corporation

Robert W. Montler
President and CEO
Lee Industries, Inc.

Douglas A. Neidich
Chief Executive Officer
GreenWorks Development, LLC

Ann S. Pepperman
McCormick Law Firm

Louis B. Plung
Managing Partner
Louis Plung & Company

Mark H. Raimy
Chief Executive Officer
Welders Supply Company

Thomas E. Richards
Executive Chairman of the Board

Susan Baker Shipley
President, Western Pennsylvania and Ohio Valley Huntington Bank

Gregory Spencer
Chief Executive Officer
Randall Industries, Inc

John P. Surma
Retired Chairman and CEO
United States Steel Corporation

Eva Tansky Blum
Former Executive Vice President and Director
Community Affairs
PNC Bank, N.A.
Former Chair and President, The PNC Foundation

John J. Verbanac
Chief Executive Officer
Summa Development, LLC

Executive Leadership

UPMC’s executive leadership is responsible for policy implementation and management of programs, services, facilities and support operations that make Life Changing Medicine possible at UPMC.

Jeffrey A. Romoff
President and Chief Executive Officer

Charles E. (Chuck) Bogosta
Executive Vice President,
President - International Services Division and President - UPMC Hillman Cancer Center

Leslie C. Davis
Senior Vice President,
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer - Health Services Division

Robert A. DeMichiei
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

David M. Farner
Executive Vice President and Chief Strategic and Transformation Officer

C. Talbot Heppenstall, Jr.
Executive Vice President, Treasurer, and President -
UPMC Enterprises

Diane P. Holder
Executive Vice President,
President - Insurance Services Division,
and President and Chief Executive Officer - UPMC Health Plan

W. Thomas McGough, Jr.
Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer

Steven Shapiro, MD
Executive Vice President, Chief Medical and Scientific Officer,
and President - Health Services Division

Marshall W. Webster, MD
Senior Vice President